GSoC 2022 with OpenMRS: Week 04

Kumuditha Karunarathna
2 min readJul 11, 2022

As the Week 04 of Google Summer of Code started on the 4th of July this week my main goals were to start working on the Scheme Editor component and writing unit tests as mentioned in my previous blog post. Here is a link to my previous blog post.

Writing unit tests is a important part when building application. I have written end to end tests using cypress and cucumber for OpenMRS 3 application. Jest is some what similar to cypress, when learning jest the knowledge on cypress was really helpful. Since the dashboard component consists of a data table, I wrote a small test in order to find out if the datatable renders correctly.

Next started working on the Scheme Editor component. In the form builder component the three major components are Scheme Editor, Interactive Form builder and Form Viewer. The Scheme Editor displays the json version of a form. This component consists of a editor. Using this scheme editor users can create or edit schemes and render them. Since my next stage is to implement this component, on this week I did a research on both Ampath and OHRI schemes. A scheme contains all the details of a form, the next step is to create a scheme for OpenMRS.

These are the tasks that I have been able to complete within this week. I became ill in the middle of the week, therefore I was unable to finish my work this week.

Thank you for reading, Stay tuned and check back next week for the fifth week’s blog post. Peace ✌️.

--

--

Kumuditha Karunarathna

GSoC 22 OpenMRS, Software Engineering Undergraduate at University of Westminster, UK